European Heritage Open Weekend

Last weekend for European Heritage Open Weekend I finally got tickets for the Titanic boat tour of Belfast harbour.  I’d called for tickets for the last 2 years only to be told they were sold out, so this year I’ve been checking the NIEA website daily to see if the EHOD programme had been released and I got lucky. My excitement was at fever pitch by the time I actually arrived at Donegall Quay, and there was a moment where I did almost push some small children aside to get to the front of the boat!boat

The boat took us out past Clarendon Dock, then across the river to the Pump House and the dry dock, where Titanic sat while she was being built.pumphouse  Our live guide explained all the buildings, including the original White Star drawing offices, the Titanic Belfast experience building and talked about the building and launch of Titanic and the strong history of shipbuilding in Belfast.  The boat took us out further to Musgrave Channel, where there is a colony of seals, who were making the most of the nice weather and sunbathing.seals  We even got a glimpse of the work in progress at the new wind turbine logistics centre, with turbine parts sitting on the quay.crane boat  I really enjoyed the trip, the guide knew a lot about Titanic and Belfast harbour, although I did find it difficult to concentrate on what he was saying because I was so busy looking at the harbour from a different perspective than usual, it’s amazing the difference it makes seeing the buildings from water level rather than the road.  I would highly recommend a trip out on the Titanic boat tour on a nice day, it made a very relaxing and informative change from my usual EHOD weekend of trying to get to as many properties as possible.

 

Leave a Reply

